This project is read-only.

Ease of Use & User Interface

Mar 21, 2008 at 2:30 PM
While impressed about the capabilities of this project, I certainly do not think it is simple to use. It took me three days to develop my first album with only 3 slides in it. After looking at dozens of discussions I still cannot figure out how to place a lengthy album description or increase the duration of the transition. Granted I am not a JavaScript programmer but do have a degree in Computer Science. Perhaps a well documented User Manual would have helped.

What concerns me most is that after developing the album I sent the URL (http://www.sjrcd.org/gallery/repaupo/) to my client and he was unable to view the album. He stated he received a prompt asking him to install "Silverlight.exe". For security reasons this completely turned him off!

What did I do wrong? When will the User Manual be available?

KP
Mar 25, 2008 at 6:05 AM
Edited Mar 25, 2008 at 6:06 AM
Yes, the user's guide is long overdue. I started it about 2 months ago and got about half way done with it and then got pulled off on a client project that has consumed 120% of my time ever since. It is still on my plate to complete and I will...

In the meantime, the Silverlight download is no different than the broswer asking to install the Flash executable. Both require a broswer plug-in. The only difference is that Flash was probably already installed and is better known for the moment. It's an unfortunate side effect of a start-up technology.
Apr 11, 2008 at 8:31 AM