What am I doing wrong?

Jan 30, 2008 at 12:47 PM
First, I am not a programmer. I am a pc technician. I have dabbled in programming, so I understand basic concepts and pick up on most processes when I have a project. This one has me stumped.

I have followed the Quick Start Guide to the letter. I downloaded silverlight 1.0, slideshow, and typed the three files needed: configuration.xml, data.xml, and page.html.

I get the black box after typing up the main page. But, when I try to add the configuration piece, I am not getting the controls at the bottom. I still only get the black box.

I did put my page, the config file, and the data file in the folder at the same level as the silverlight and slideshow .js files just in case that was the problem. It did not help.

Can someone tell me what I am missing or doing wrong?

Thanks.
Developer
Jan 30, 2008 at 5:00 PM
It's really hard to say without knowing more. Probably akin to one of your customers calling and saying "I plugged it in , and hit the power button, but it's broke" :) :)

j/k

Sounds like your on the right path. Can you post the contents of the actual .html file and such so we can take a look. Probably something simple.
Jan 30, 2008 at 6:57 PM
Sorry. Ok, the first bit of code is my main page. I named it main.html. When I run it before I add the configuration code, I get the black box on the page. It is afterwards that I have problems.

Here is main.html:

<html>
<head>
<title>Slide.Show</title>
<script type="text/javascript" src="Silverlight.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="SlideShow.js"></script>
</head>
<body>
<script type="text/javascript">
new SlideShow.Control(new SlideShow.XmlConfigProvider());
</script>
</body>
</html>

The next bit is my configuration file:

<configuration width="600" height="400" background="Silver">
<modules>
<module type="SlideViewer" />
<module type="ProgressBar" />
<module type="SlideDescription" />
<module type="NavigationTray">