Am I missing a smart way to create Data.xml?

Dec 16, 2007 at 5:58 PM
Hello all,

Is there a way to create Data.xml from folders and files that are on the site or a way to feed folders and files on the site automatically to the slideshow without the need for a Data.xml?

Thanks,
Avram
Dec 17, 2007 at 1:37 AM
what is your server running? I've written a very simple ASP.NET page that builds the Data.XML on-demand (at the moment it doesn't do thumbnails or create descriptions for you - that's easy enough to edit later)
Happy to post that.
I wanted to get it (optionally) picking up thumbnails, respecting existing descriptions etc in the file (if you're refreshing the list) and maybe work out how to get meta data out of .jpg images... but don't have the time right now.
Happy to share if that would help...
Dec 18, 2007 at 8:16 PM
Oh that would be great! I'm just starting to get into creating websites and all that but I am a programmer so I can probably try to make sense of the code you post and maybe modify it to suite my needs...

Thanks,
Avram
Dec 18, 2007 at 8:46 PM
What would be great is if you could provide the sildeshow pluging a relative path and filename wildcard in the data.xml album sections and have it parse that path for hits and generate the album from that. This way the auto album generation routines would work on free hosting services like office.live.com basics where asp.net page processing is not supported.
Dec 19, 2007 at 2:01 AM
@avrmw - I'm on the road the rest of the week, but I'll try and tidy up and post the ASP script if I can

@robertob - if you can't run server side scripts then how would you get the directory listing? Javascript is client side and can't parse the server anyway... it would need some sort of server side processing to get that data...
Jan 2, 2008 at 7:01 PM
Edited Jan 8, 2008 at 2:31 PM